The Requirement for Marriage license
A marriage license is valid in any parish in the State of Louisiana.
Age Requirement – Applicants must be 18 years of age. If an applicant is 16 or 17 years of age, both parents must appear with photo identification to sign a consent form. Applicants 16 and 17 years of age cannot marry someone three (3) years or more older then them. Applicants under 16 years of age cannot get married in Louisiana.
Time Requirement – Applicants must obtain the marriage license at least 24 hours (1 day) prior to the ceremony. This can be waived by a judge or justice of the peace authorized to perform the ceremony. Marriage license expires 30 days from date and time of issue if not used.
Covenant Marriage – To apply for a marriage license under the Covenant Marriage Act, the couple must comply with all of the above-stated requirements in addition to receiving premarital counseling. For a full description of the Covenant Marriage Act, please refer to the Louisiana Department of Health & Hospitals’ website. Click Here.
Fee – The fee for obtaining a marriage license is $33.00 (cash or check payable to Clerk of Court). This fee includes two certified copies of the marriage license, which will be forwarded to the couple’s correct mailing address once it is returned to us from the officiant.
What’s Needed For a Marriage License
Application for a Marriage License must be sworn to and signed before a Deputy Clerk or Notary. Both parties do not have to be present for the license to be issued. If not printed in English, in addition to the Certified Copy, a translated copy duly authorized must be presented. In lieu of a birth certificate, a Certificate of Naturalization by the U. S. Citizenship and Immigration Authority can be provided.Certified copy of Birth Certificate for both partiesSocial Security NumberValid & Unexpired Driver’s License or government issued identification cardProof of Termination of prior marriage (judgment of Divorce or Death Certificate)Fee of $33.00 (cash or check payable to Clerk of Court)LIST OF JUSTICE OF THE PEACE
To electronically file UCC with the Louisiana Secretary of State Click Here
E-Search Record Search Information
Save time with E-SearchSt. Mary Parish records are searchable on the Internet. Click Here to go to our searchable records database and sign up with an account to obtain the records you need.Types of Records Available
Conveyance and mortgage records are viewable online. Go to our searchable database to set up an account to access records via eSearch or view fees for this service.
Certification Of Election Commissioner Classes
We do not have any classes scheduled at this time. Please call our office and we will provide you with information about training and examination for becoming a certified election commissioner.
Please Click Here for more detailed information about receiving a notice for St. Mary Parish Jury Duty
Once you have been selected for jury service, you will receive a juror packet in the mail, from the St. Mary Parish Sheriff. This will consist of your juror summons, an instruction sheet, a questionnaire, and a return envelope. Please complete the questionnaire and return it to the Sheriff’s Office in the return envelope.
If you are over 70 years of age and claiming exemption from jury duty, complete the section of the questionnaire under JURY DUTY EXEMPTION and provide verification of date of birth. No further communication from the presiding judge is necessary, as this is an automatic exemption.
If you have a hardship and would like to judge to consider excusing you from jury service, please provide as much information as you can and attach it to the questionnaire form (Examples: letter from your doctor of any medical problems, letter from your employer if there is a hardship with your job or travel arrangement that would coincide with your jury service). The judge is the only person that may grant you an excuse from jury service.
If you are given an excuse from jury service, the judge’s staff will notify you with a written notice.
You must come to Court unless you get a written excuse from the judge or a telephone communication from the judge granting you an excuse. You are required to call after 6:00 P. M. the day prior to your jury duty for a recorded message concerning your attendance.
PHONE: (337) 828-4238 OR (337) 828-4100 EXT 205
Please bring your summons with you to Court. Report to the 6th Floor of the St. Mary Parish Courthouse as instructed on the recorded message. The bailiffs will direct you to the correct courtroom.
NOTICE: NO CELL PHONES, I-PADS, RECORDING, OR OTHER ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATION DEVICES OR CAMERAS ARE ALLOWED ON COURTROOM FLOOR.
PROPER DRESS IS REQUIRED. NO SHORTS OR TANK TOPS, DRESS APPROPRIATELY AND IN KEEPING WITH THE DIGNITY OF THE COURT.